My history with todo list management: Part 1 of 2 (1983-2004)

Between 1980 and 1983 I was in my first job as a computer operator on shift and didn’t anything more than a pocket diary in order to ensure I didn’t double book myself for a concert or a night out.

In 83 I started getting supervisory duties and from there on I needed to keep track of my schedule and that of others as well as projects. As this was the 80s I started with a paper based filo fax and then after being sent on a course by my work company (remember wang labs?) I used a time management international (tmi) folder.

Electronic devices were in their infancy and at times I had pretty much everything from the psion range ( xpII, 3c,5mx and mc518) an Apple Newton and an HP Jornada.

I eventually settled on a sharp PC 3000 running dos with lotus agenda.

I think that was my favourite as lotus agenda was an amazing piece of work. In fact I have been looking for a replacement for agenda for years.

Around the year 2000, I got into the David Allen “getting things done” and I started to make agenda work with gtd principles. For some reason maybe hardware failure, I then developed my ideas for to do lists, task tracking and gtd in a series of ever more complex excel sheets.

… And that brings me to 2004 when work life changed radically for me as I left the corporate world and started another (my 5th small business) so the story continues in the next part of this blog.

Leave a comment